How should we respond to hate???

“Darkness cannot drive out darkness only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate only love can do that.” – Martin Luther King, Jr.

I was trying to finish a blog post that I started last week but talking of the beauty in music seems so out of place, after hearing about the attack in Tel Aviv and the homeland attack in Orlando.  I am simply heartbroken. I hurt for the families who have lost loved ones. I hurt for the injured and all the victims who spent time feeling scared and helpless.

I wish I knew how to solve this obvious problem. I wish there was an easy fix. I dare say there is not.

I know that when the gay community is hurting in Orlando, Fl. It touches me in my small town of Elizabeth, Co. Simply because we are all human, on the same planet and connected.

The Bible commands me to, Love my neighbor as I do myself (Mark 12:31). It also reminds me that I am also to: Love my enemy and be nice to them, even lend money to them expecting nothing in return (Luke6:35). I think that Martin Luther King, Jr. understood this concept much better than I do. He understood that only light drives out darkness and that only love can drive out hate.

How does that translate to a terrorist who has taken innocent lives with his hate filled heart? And how do I protect my heart from the darkness of hate? How do I prevent the anger I feel from turning into hate?

I have no answers to these questions.  I guess I will simply mourn for the victims and love them with all my heart. After all the Bible also tells me to, mourn with those who mourn (Rom. 12:15). Perhaps the mourning needs to come first before I can even entertain thoughts of how to bring light to this situation.

Maybe spouting solutions before mourning will simply lead to bad solutions filled with reactionary anger and hate. So today, I mourn and pray for the victims.

 Father God,

May your grace and love flow to each victim, and their families.

 May your healing spirit hover over each heart, life and body that was touched by evil.

 May hope and healing flow through every victim’s veins, bringing them healing and strength.

Grant each victim the strength to move on,

 Guard each victim’s heart with your love.

Protect my heart from the evil of hate.

Shine your divine light into this situation.

Teach me how to act in the face of evil.

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

