What note will I play now?

Miles Davis said,”If you hit a wrong note, it’s the next note that you play that determines if it’s good or bad.” I feel like Trump winning the election is a note that was played by America, how I respond will determine if it was a good or bad note.  I do not like the idea of President Trump being our next President but I know that life in America will continue. The next note will be played and I will find a way to be part of that note.

I refuse to hope that President Trump will fail because to do so is to hope that America fails.

Unlike my conservative friends and family, I do not think that President Trump is the answer to America’s problems. Those same people have spent the last eight years being consistent nay sayers. What did I learn from them? I learned that I have no intention of spreading dissonance. I will not be a nay sayer…with that being said, I will not be silent.

I was always taught to pray for the President. I did that for President Obama and I intent to do the same for President Trump and no I will not pray for his demise. I will pray favor over him as he enters the international community as America’s leader. I will pray wisdom as he takes on the gigantic task of leading our country.

I have decided that the best gift I can give to my country is to listen. Truly listen to what is being said and listen some more, until I wholly understand. I want to hear the heart beat of the issues being discussed. After I understand, I will, with integrity, decide what my response should be. What note should I play? I will not bad mouth a party, or a person, but I will speak.

I will speak for the weak, and the poor. I will speak for the under represented. I will love people over policy. I will love people over money. I will speak for those who have no voice and I will not be silenced. I will not be bullied into silence. I will speak for my children and my children’s children. I will do whatever I can to give them a future.

Martin Luther King, Jr. talked often about a false peace. I do not want a false peace, I will not be silent in order to keep the peace. I will face conflict head on if need be. I have the right to have an opinion. Sometimes, I even have a moral duty to speak that opinion, and speak I will. I have never been so sure that I was put on this planet, “for such a time as this”.

I do not know what the future holds but I know that I am here for a reason. I know that I have the skills and talents needed for whatever the next four years will bring. I will constantly remind myself to listen first and respond with empathy and compassion. I pray that I will have the wisdom to know when and how to speak. So that the next note played will be a good one!

Leave a Reply

